Collection

Collection

The University of Zurich’s Medical Collection is one of the most significant in Europe. More than 20’000 objects are currently being inventoried and prepared for scientific research. The collection focuses on medical instruments and equipment for diagnosis and therapy.

The Zurich collection’s high coverage of the 19th century and exemplary pieces from the 17th and 18th centuries set it apart from other similar collections. The surgical, obstetrical, ophthalmological and orthopaedic subcollections are especially extensive. Further highlights include instruments and equipment used for research and surgery by important doctors of the University of Zurich and the surrounding region, as well as devices and remedies used in alternative medicine.

Additions to the collection

Apart from selectively complementing our instrument ranges we wish to collect objects that throw light on medicinal practices beyond technology. We are especially interested in objects that represent people and their destinies, medical organizations and institutions, as well as the interactions between medical care and the social and political environment.

If you own objects with which you wish to complete our collection, please contact us museum@iem.uzh.ch

Collection concept

The concept of the collection (German language) is now accessible here (PDF, 1292 KB).

Sammlung

Bestand

Die Medizinische Sammlung der Universität Zürich zählt zu den bedeutendsten in Europa. Ihr geschätzter Bestand von mehr als 20‘000 Objekten wird zurzeit inventarisiert und wissenschaftlich erschlossen. Der thematische Schwerpunkt liegt auf medizinischen Instrumenten und Geräten für Diagnose und Therapie.

Von anderen Sammlungen ihrer Art hebt sie sich durch eine dichte Abdeckung des 19. Jh. und exemplarische Stücke des 17. und 18. Jh. ab. Besonders reich sind die Teilsammlungen Chirurgie, Geburtshilfe, Ophthalmologie und Orthopädietechnik. Weitere Highlights sind Instrumentarien und Geräte aus der Forschung und Praxis bedeutender Ärzte der Universität und der Region Zürich ebenso wie Apparate und Mittel alternativmedizinischer Ansätze.

Sammlungserweiterung

Neben der gezielten Ergänzung der Instrumentenserien suchen wir Objekte, welche Licht auf die Medizin jenseits der Technik werfen. Von besonderem Interesse sind jene, die Menschen und ihre Schicksale, medizinische Organisationen und Institutionen sowie die Wechselwirkung zwischen medizinischer Versorgung und dem gesellschaftlichen und politischen Umfeld repräsentieren.

Falls Sie im Besitz von Gegenständen sind, mit denen Sie unsere Sammlung ergänzen möchten, nehmen Sie bitte unter museum@iem.uzh.ch mit uns Kontakt auf.

Sammlungskonzept

Das Sammlungskonzept können Sie hier (PDF, 1292 KB) einsehen.